Award Scheme

A new award scheme is being implemented in 2021. Please refer to the Award Scheme tab on the home page for the full details.

Here is the new Cub Scout Challenge Journey


Cub Scout uniform badge placement

The major components of the Cub Scout Award Scheme are the Bronze, Silver and Gold Boomerang badges. The Boomerang badges aim to develop skills and awareness in self-responsibility, outdoor Scouting, Scouting values and principles, creativity, personal pursuits and interests, and awareness of the Cub Scout’s local and global community.

To earn each of these badges, Cub Scouts must complete at least ten challenges under the guidance of Leaders.

The Bronze Boomerang is the first part of the journey through the Cub Scout Award Scheme. If a Cub joins at around nine years of age they will probably start with the Silver Boomerang, in which the tasks are more challenging but build on the skills the Cub Scout has already learned. The Gold Boomerang is most suitable for Cub Scouts around 10 years of age.

To earn each of the Boomerang badges the Cub Scout must complete 10 out of 14 set tasks. Tasks 1-7 are compulsory, but the Cub can choose any three from the tasks numbered 8 to 14. The tasks can be completed in any order, except for number 7 (Promise and Law) which must be completed last and signed off by the Cub Scout Leader.

The 14 Boomerang badge tasks are:

1. Health and First Aid (Responsibility for Self)
2. Safety (Responsibility for Self)
3. Ropes (Outdoor Scouting)
4. Outdoor Scouting (Outdoor Scouting)
5. Our Cub Scout Traditions (Scouting Aims and Principles)
6. Symbols of Australia (Growing Awareness of Local Community)
7. Promise and Law (Values of Scouting)
8. Fitness (Pursuits and Interests & Responsibility for Self)
9. People and Cultures (Growing Awareness of Wider World)
10. Scientific Discovery (The World Around Us)
11. The Natural Environment (The World Around Us)
12. Self Expression (Creativity)
13. Handcraft (Creativity)
14. Your Community (Growing Awareness of Local Community)

Cub Scouts can set challenges for themselves to earn Achievement Badges from the areas of Arts and Literature, Nature, Science and Technology, Sports and Recreation, and Our World.
Achievement badges give Cub Scouts the opportunity to concentrate on their areas of interest. There are 34 badges to choose from. Each badge has two levels and the Cub Scout chooses which level they would like to achieve.

There are also a number of Special Interest badges.

Grey Wolf badge

The ultimate badge for Cub Scouts is the Grey Wolf Award. This can only be attained by earning a certain number of badges from the other levels of the scheme as well as completing several additional challenges.This is the pinnacle of achievement in the Cub Scout Section. To earn the Grey Wolf Award a Cub Scout must hold a Gold Boomerang badge, participate in a minimum of four outdoor activities and attend two Pack Councils in the previous 12 months, complete four Level 2 Achievement badges (one from each category) and one Special Interest badge, and develop and present a resource for the Six or Pack based on the Cub Scout’s understanding of The Jungle Book.

Cub Scouts who are nominated by a Leader may attend the Cub Scout Leadership Course for current and potential Sixers and Seconds. The aim of this course is to provide suitable skills in leadership, problem-solving, challenges and Pack Councils to Cub Scouts who may be appointed to leadership roles within their Packs.

The Scout Link Badge links the Cub to the next step in their journey, the Scout Section. The Scout Leader and a Patrol Leader from the Scout Section jointly carry out the training and testing for the eight requirements of this badge.

Comments are closed.